New Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee chairman appointed

WASHINGTON — On a telephone conference this morning with the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC), Postmaster General Patrick Donahoe enthusiastically appointed Janet Klug, past president of the American Philatelic Society, to become chairman of the committee, beginning Jan. 16, 2014.

“I am pleased to appoint Janet Klug chairman of the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee. Janet has already made her presence felt on the committee, having served since 2010. She continually champions ideas that are contemporary, timely and relevant,” Donahoe said.

“As Janet takes on this leadership role, the Postal Service will benefit from her wealth of expertise and knowledge of philately as she helps the Postal Service develop exceptional stamp topics that represent the best of America,” said Donahoe.

A lifelong stamp collector, Klug writes regular columns about stamp collecting for Linn’s Stamp News. Her work has also appeared in American Philatelist, Stamp Collector and Global Stamp News. Her recent publications include Smithsonian Guide to Collecting (2008) and 100 Greatest American Stamps (2007), which she co-authored with Donald Sundman.

Klug also served as chair of the New Initiatives Committee on the Smithsonian National Postal Museum’s Council of Philatelists.

Klug studied computer science and history at the University of Cincinnati and worked in the computer departments of several corporations, including EDS (Electronic Data Systems). Now retired, she is a firm believer in continuing education and loves taking courses at community colleges. “I can see myself as a 90-year-old woman taking yodeling for beginners,” she says. Her considerable volunteer work centers on philately and adult literacy.

Janet will lead her first meeting on January 16th, in Washington D.C. when the group meets for the first of their quarterly scheduled meetings.

Donahoe expressed his appreciation and thanks to outgoing chair Jean Firstenberg, who served on the committee since February 2002.

“Jean brought passion to her work on the committee and served with great distinction and the utmost dedication. She often referred to her work developing stamps as a noble cause and we echo that sentiment ,” Donahoe said.

Firstenberg championed many interesting and unique stamp subjects over the years, including the Legends of Hollywood series, Film Directors, American Journalists, Pixar, Disney and Classic Comic Strips. Other memorable and highly successful stamps issued under her leadership included such topics as Thanksgiving Day Parade, Negro Leagues Baseball, Baseball All-Stars, United States Supreme Court Justices, and several Black Heritage stamps.

Prior to joining CSAC, Firstenberg was the director and chief executive officer of the American Film Institute.

Established in 1957, CSAC is tasked with evaluating the merits of all stamp subjects suggested by the public. The committee’s primary goal is to select subjects of broad national interest for recommendation to the Postmaster General that are educational, contemporary, relevant and timely. Also, the members review and provide guidance on artwork and designs for stamp subjects that are scheduled to be issued.

The Postal Service encourages individuals with stamp ideas to submit their suggestions in writing to:

Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee
475 L’Enfant Plaza SW Room 3300
Washington, DC 20260-3501