APWU Members Oust Guffey

Mark Dimondstein was elected the new president of the American Postal Workers Union in a hotly-contested race that ended Oct. 7. His “Members First” team won most of the offices they sought, defeating incumbents.

The exceptions were incumbents Liz Powell, who was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer in a three-way race, and William Kaczor, who was re-elected Health Plan Director. The union mailed 195,509 ballots to union members; 48,909 envelopes were returned.

“I hope everyone will get behind the new administration,” said outgoing President Cliff Guffey. “We have tough times ahead and we’re going to need unity.” Dimondstein was not available for comment.

Running on Dimondstein’s slate and winning were: Debby Szeredy for Executive Vice President, Tony McKinnon for Industrial Relations Director, John Marcotte for Legislative/Political Director, and Anna Smith for Organization Director. Also running with Dimondstein and winning were Kennith Beasley for Southern Region Coordinator and Clint Burelson for Clerk Division Director.

Twenty-four offices were contested, including Maintenance Assistant Director, 11 National Business Agent spots and three Retiree National Convention Delegates.

Unofficial results are posted below. Winners are denoted with an asterisk; incumbent officers are denoted by “(I)” appearing after their name. Certified results are expected in the next several days and will be posted at www.apwu.org. Results also will appear in the next issue of The American Postal Worker.

The newly-elected officers begin three-year terms on Nov. 12. A swearing-in ceremony will be held Nov. 7.


Installation of National Officers
Nov. 7, 2013 – Bally’s Las Vegas
In Conjunction with All-Craft Conference

Members and guests are invited to attend the Installation of National Officers on Thursday, Nov. 7, which will be held in conjunction with this year’s All-Craft Conference. The ceremonial affair will feature the swearing-in of new and returning officers. Festivities will begin with a reception at 5 p.m. The Installation of National Officers will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Tickets are $60 each and may be purchased online at www.apwu.org. The deadline for purchasing tickets and for making payment is Oct. 18. Please note that refunds will not be issued for any reason.

For additional information, please contact Hannah Lively, Executive Assistant to the Secretary-Treasurer, at hlively@apwu.org or 202-842-4205.



[back to top]

  • reg

    Very sad that only 25% thought this was important enough to vote on!!

  • Lisa Mellinger

    I cannot believe less than 50% voted!!!! What happened to the rest of you?!?! This is quite pathetic!!!!!!

    • APWU Member

      Yeah!! Goofey is out with some of his conspirators! This would be better for the union and get a stronger contract in the future!!

  • Postal Observer

    The most important election in the history of the union and the majority of the members choose not to have a say in who’s going to lead them.That is how crooks like Guffey got into the leadership.

  • mamadj7

    It is definitely a shame. The UNION mailed out 195,509 ballots to UNION members AND only 48,909 envelopes were returned? That means 146,600 members did not return the ballots – did not vote. We need to have UNITY in the UNION. When our fellow co-workers are mistreated – it affects all of us. The Union is there to protect the rights of all employees. There are many, many people wishing they had UNION job. It is not only important to be a UNION member – it is also important to participate in UNION activities and one of the most important is electing those whom we wish to represent us. Congratulations to our new administration and to those who were re-elected or who ran unopposed. Praying for each of you to have success in your new position and THANK YOU – your becoming our representatives shows that you truly care about all employees. RJF Brooklyn Local 251