NALC: “Deeply flawed” S. 1789 set for vote on Tuesday, April 24

 

From the National Association of Letter Carriers:

Emergency telephone town hall meeting set for Sunday night, April 22, at 8:30 p.m. ET

April 20, 2012 — Late Thursday night, the leadership of the U.S. Senate announced an agreement to bring S. 1789, the 21st Century Postal Service Act of 2012, to the floor for debate on Monday, April 23.

The agreement provides for the introduction of the managers’ amendment released earlier this week by Sens. Lieberman (I-CT), Collins (R-ME), Carper (D-DE) and Brown (R-MA), and the expedited consideration of dozens of amendments to S. 1789.

Debate on each amendment will be limited to two minutes and there will be a 10-minute voting period for each proposed change.

Unfortunately, as part of this amendment process, the party leaders agreed to require a super-majority (60 votes) to adopt changes to the bill.

A final vote on S. 1789 is scheduled for Tuesday night, April 24—though voting could extend into the following day or days.

NALC opposes S. 1789 as currently drafted and will urge senators to vote “NO” on Tuesday unless three amendments are adopted:

  • The Udall Amendment (#2043) to strike the authorization to eliminate Saturday delivery in two years;
  • The Shumer Amendment (#2050) to preserve door-to-door delivery for 35 million to 40 million households that would be phased out under S. 1789 as drafted; and
  • The Akaka Amendment (#2034) to delete the draconian reform of the federal workers compensation system (FECA) and replace it with the NALC-supported FECA reform bill (H.R. 2465) that already has passed the House of Representatives.

NALC President Fredric Rolando has recorded a robo-telephone call to alert union members about an emergency tele-town hall meeting scheduled for Sunday night at 8:30 p.m. Eastern Time (7:30 p.m. Central Time, 6:30 p.m. Mountain Time and 5:30 p.m. Pacific Time).

There will be a single call for the entire nation.

Every member who has given the Postal Service a valid home phone number will be called Sunday night to take part in the meeting.

President Rolando will brief members on the legislative fight in the Senate and provide instructions on how letter carriers can contact their senators to relay our views on the legislation.

“The vote on Tuesday night will decide the fate of the Postal Service—our jobs, our futures and our standard of living is on the line,” President Rolando said. “I implore every member of NALC to roll up your sleeves in the days ahead to fight for a strong and viable Postal Service.”